November 18

November 19, 2011 at 10:40 pm | Posted in Me, Transylvania | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

November 18: Walking tall.
Three months ago today, an Italian nurse in Cheeto-colored scrubs wheeled me out of my room and down into the frigid depths of Ospedale San Giovanni di Dio ā€” the surgery floor. The anesthesiologists administered my epidural, the surgeons hammered a titanium plate and five screws into my fractured tibia, and then they zapped in 32 staples. It’s an anniversary I marked this week by taking my first wobbly, knee-buckling steps. I still need two crutches for support. I still have to carry spoons and Kindles and bags of chips in my teeth. But Iā€™m walking. Walking.

+++

Fluffy Bunnies in Romania:
Read the tales
.
See the photos.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yay, you! Huzzah! Hurrah! Yippee!!!! Congratulations on those steps!

  2. […] 13: On the ball. Look at me! In the ornament! On two legs! Some days, I think it’s a true Christmas […]

  3. […] 19: Taking the lunge. I resumed physical therapy this week, but instead of my therapist coming to me, I went to his hospital and used the equipment […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.