October 18

October 19, 2011 at 1:48 pm | Posted in Me, Transylvania | 8 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

October 18: Happy Anniversary to me!
I asked my husband at dinner last night if he knew what day it was. He looked at me in that deer-in-the-headlights way, mentally going through the list of birthdays and anniversaries to see if he’d missed one. And, yes, it was the half-anniversary of our first date, but I wouldn’t expect him to remember that! More importantly right now, it was the two-month anniversary of my surgery in Italy to repair my broken leg. I’m still on crutches, still not walking, but nearly every day, there’s some small measure of progress. Soon, I will be on my feet again (literally).

I picked this picture to mark the day not because of what’s in it, but because of when I took it. On our trip this weekend, I did a lot of sitting. A lot of hobbling to and from chairs and benches. A lot of watching: watching my kids play, my parents put dropped mittens back on cold hands, my husband toss the kids up in the air. At this moment, though, my mother was putting the baby down for a nap. The older kids were hiking up a trail and climbing into a treehouse with Daddy and Pawpaw. And I was alone.

I wasn’t lonely. I could hear my children laughing. I watched yellow leaves drift down from the trees surrounding me and felt the cold, cold wind on the back of my neck. I snapped pictures of this and that. No, I wasn’t lonely. But I was alone. It struck me as a metaphor for this injury. I’m unequivocally thankful to have had people around me, supporting me, helping me, since that first day in the hospital. Ultimately, though, I am alone on this long road back to health. I alone must adapt to these physical (and mental) limitations. And I alone have the strength to overcome them.

+++

Fluffy Bunnies in Romania:
Read the tales
.
See the photos.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. This is a beautifully written post, Stacia. It brought tears to my eyes.

  2. […] back to the States. Our Romanian nanny started at 8 a.m., and she’ll be coming every weekday until I can walk again. Can I tell her what I need? Will we forge a friendship? Will she care for my baby the way I would? […]

  3. I really like the perspective on this one!

  4. […] light. I captured this from my perch on the couch this afternoon. I sat, still reeling from my physical therapy yesterday, while our nanny chased after Bun as he ferried Legos between his room and the kitchen. […]

  5. […] 6: Keeping track. A Romanian friend who has been a tremendous help since my accident gave us this train set a few weeks ago. Her son is older and has outgrown it, whereas we are smack […]

  6. […] November 12: Walking the line. Romanians are big walkers, as are citizens in most European countries. The residential and commercial divisions you see in the States simply do not exist over here. In our neighborhood alone, there is a bakery, restaurant, market, pharmacy, haircut place, tire store, and park within easy walking distance. I love it! (Almost as much as I love watching people walk up and down our street all day, dodging cars, dogs, fallen fruit, and the occasional pile of horse poop.) I always wonder if the people I see are on their way out or on their way home. It’s hours of entertainment, especially when you sit on the couch for a good part of your day, like I have done these last three months! […]

  7. […] holiday wares already. (I momentarily forgot that I haven’t been to the grocery store in three months.) But Friday night, my husband came home with an artificial tree. My daughter got so excited that […]

  8. […] bone in my mothering body (even the broken one) wanted to “correct” them. To remind them of the adorable finished product we were […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.