September 22

September 23, 2011 at 3:16 pm | Posted in Me, Transylvania | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

September 22: Simple things.
I peeled this bunch of carrots yesterday. That statement doesn’t seem very exciting in and of itself, but consider this: In the States, I would have ripped open my plastic bag of pre-washed, pre-cut carrots and started slicing. Actually, I probably would have decided on something for dinner that didn’t require slicing since I can’t stand at the kitchen counter. But yesterday, I got to participate in preparing a meal for my family, something I haven’t done in quite a while (unless it’s ordering pizza on the Internet). And I got to feel every speck of dirt, every lingering root, every gnarl on honest-to-goodness carrots someone pulled from the ground not too long ago. It was such a simple thing, but such a profound one, too.

+++

Fluffy Bunnies in Romania:
Read the tales
.
See the photos.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Just stumbled on your blog this morning, what an interesting story you have! Inspiring. 🙂

    I’m in the states, & I have a bag of carrots in the fridge just waiting to be peeled. I will definitely keep your perspective in mind when I do!

  2. I love nothing more than to “participate in preparing a meal for my family” every day except I don’t always have the energy for that. But when I do, it’s my favorite way of giving back to my family (maybe because I get something out of it too). 🙂

    p.s. Love that peeler.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.