September 1

September 1, 2011 at 10:00 pm | Posted in Family, Giggles, Lollipop, Transylvania | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

September 1: Getting in gear.
It’s the first day of the Romanian school year. With just a little help, Lollipop and Giggles hopped right out of bed, got dressed, brushed their hair and teeth, grabbed their school bags, and were ready to see their preschool friends and teachers again. It was a bittersweet morning for me because, normally, I would be driving them. Normally, the stick shift on our European Opel (pictured above, with a tiny slice of my reflection) would be my biggest nemesis. Normally, I would start my day with an adrenaline rush as I veered around cars half-parked on sidewalks and dodged taxis and buses on the 10-minute route to school. But this morning, I sat back. I let my husband and father take care of it. I gave out hugs and kisses and more hugs. And I watched them go, eager for their school-year adventure to begin just as I am eager to resume all the jobs I once did with relative ease … except, okay, the stick shift. That will never be easy, healed leg or not!

+++

Fluffy Bunnies in Romania:
Read the tales
.
See the photos.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The first day back at school was always a strange one. As much as I had enjoyed having the girls at home all day, I would look around at the empty house, see how many things I had to catch up on from the busy holiday time, run my fingers through the extra grey hairs I’d gained and take the day off, catching up on all of the breathing and nothingness I hadn’t had time to do. The chaos would still be there waiting for me the next day. 🙂

  2. […] love the ways you’ve pushed me. To buy Brussels sprouts and drive a stick. To trust my instincts and live without Dr. Pepper. To let people help […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.