August 10

August 10, 2011 at 11:51 pm | Posted in Transylvania | 17 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

August 10: Quintessential Romanian hospitality.
Our neighbors invited us over yesterday for a visit and presented us with these: a humongous container of pickles, a bottle of red currant syrup, and a jar of jam, and all homemade. The jam is best on a cold winter’s day, they told us, and the pickles need to ferment for two more weeks. We sampled some of the syrup at their apartment, mixing it with a glass of cold water to counteract the late-day heat. Gifts like these have come to symbolize quintessential Romanian hospitality for me — it’s not only the gift itself, but also the gift of time and hard work. I only wish I had some homemade food to reciprocate with … Banana bread is about all I can make!

+++

Fluffy Bunnies in Romania:
Read the tales
.
See the photos.

+++

See more Qs at Jenny’s.

Jenny Matlock

17 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wonderful gifts! The gift of time is priceless, I think.

  2. I love homemade pickles! My mother in law made them with dill and they were just wonderful. I’ll have to see if I still have her recipe!!

  3. My daughter made current syrup last year and it was wonderful on waffels. The homemade gifts represent the heart of the giver as well as the gift. I’ll bet they would appeciate banna bread! After all, bread is comfort food!

  4. What sweet friends to share their lovingly made treats. I bet they are delicious. Visiting from Alphabe-Thursday. xo,

  5. Well, I explored a bit and found all your photos! They are wonderful and sooooo interesting!!

  6. Hello.
    Homemade gifts always have so much more meaning because not only are they given from the heart, but also from someone’s toil & hard work.

    Lovely post!

    Thanks for the visit too.

  7. Wow!! How nice and so hospitable!! All looks yummy!

  8. What wonderful gifts! I’m sure they would like the banana bread.

    • It’s funny, I actually made them some banana bread when we first got here … and now I’m out of ideas! I’d love to reciprocate with something else. Maybe chocolate chip cookies since those are pretty unheard of, too??

  9. What wonderful gifts! I guess I would have to make a cake.

  10. How generous. I love a homemade gift.

    =)

  11. Love the homemade goodies! Chocolate chip cookies sounds like a great gift to give :o)

    Blessings & Aloha!
    Thank you for stopping by and for your sweet comment! Please do come back again…any time.

  12. Just found your blog. How cool to be living in Transylvania for a year!

    That was very thoughtful of your neighbors. Since you’ve already given them banana bread, here are some ideas (although I have no idea what ingredients you can get):

    snickerdoodles
    brownies
    fudge
    banana muffins with chocolate chips
    no-bake cookies (the ones with cocoa, peanut butter, and oats)

  13. How very lovely!

  14. Oh, how absolutely lovely. Even the colors of the gifts are as joyous as the sentiment.

    This was quite a charming link to Alphabe-Thursday’s letter “Q”.

    Thanks for sharing it!

    A+

  15. I love to see the things I have, or others have canned. The shiny glass with the colorful fruits and veggies inside… It just warms my cockles!

  16. […] We are grateful for homemade gifts like rose jam, currant juice, and gigantic jars of pickles. […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.